More 2021 Postseason Awards for Baylor MBB

More postseason awards for Baylor MBB

Fewer than 10 days ago, the regular season Big 12 Champion Baylor Men’s Basketball team collected several 2021 postseason awards (I wrote about the updated ones in this post!) in light of their historic season and first ever conference title. Prior to this current collection of postseason awards in regard to the Big 12 conference awards, “Head Coach Scott Drew took home the Big 12 Men’s Basketball Coach of the Year award following the Bears’ historic run even despite three weeks of postponed and cancelled conference games. Junior G Davion Mitchell (arguably the team’s most improved player and inherently reliable on both ends of the ball) was named the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year, which was the first time a Baylor athlete had ever been given that honor. Mitchell was also named to the All-Big 12 First Team (an improvement from his Third Team placement last year) alongside junior G Jared Butler, who was outrageously snubbed by the conference’s coaches from the Big 12 Player of the Year title (instead given to Oklahoma State freshman Cade Cunningham). Senior F Mark Vital was snubbed as well from the All-Big 12 lists, only making it with an Honorable Mention despite his dominating defensive performances all throughout his career and especially this season. Sophomore F Jonathan Tchamwa Tchatchoua made it onto the All-Big 12 All-Newcomer Team as a transfer from UNLV.” Butler added a First Team selection by Sporting News to his resume and Mitchell was named to the Third Team. The Associated Press named Butler Big 12 Player of the Year and Coach Drew earned his second consecutive Big 12 Coach of the Year honor while senior G MaCio Teague and Mitchell were added to the All-Big 12 Second Team. In the most recently distributed postseason awards, the National Association of Basketball Coaches named Butler to the All-America First Team and Mitchell took home a Third Team honor. According to Baylor Athletics’ Jerry Hill (papa), “Together they doubled the total number of NABC All-America selections in program history.” And only a couple days ago, AP gave Baylor a school-record three athletes on the All-American lists. Butler is the first “All-America First Team honoree in program history,” Mitchell is on the All-America Third Team, and Teague is an honorable mention. Here’s hoping these athletes will help Baylor earn a win tomorrow in the first NCAA round against Hartford!