Blogmas Day 10 | The 2016 Heisman

Although Blogmas is about celebrating the festivities of the season, I still want to post about the action going on in college football. Tonight, Louisville QB Lamar Jackson was crowned the 2016 Heisman trophy winner, which recognizes the most outstanding football player of the season. Jackson was the majority winner with 2,144 points compared to Clemson QB Deshaun Watson’s 1,524; Oklahoma QB Baker Mayfield’s 361; Oklahoma WR Dede Westbrook’s 209 and Michigan LB/ATH Jabrill Peppers’ 208. While the Cardinals suffered back-to-back losses at the end of their regular season, Jackson’s stats were better than every other QB in the nation. His final stats before the bowl game are 51 total touchdowns and 4,928 total yards. One major snub going in to the ceremony was the rejection of Washington QB Jake Browning whose stats were better than Watson. Jackson is the first Heisman winner from Louisville and is the youngest winner of all time. Check out his essay on The Players Tribune!