Big 12 Honors for Baylor Football

Nine members of the Baylor football team earned All-Big 12 honors yesterday. Senior transfer WR Jalen Hurd snagged one of the top awards after being named 2018 Big 12 Offensive Newcomer of the Year. Hurd has been a crucial impact player for the Bears this season, using his new position to directly lead Baylor to the first bowl game in head coach Matt Rhule’s tenure. Over the season, Hurd has amassed 69 receptions for 946 yards and four receiving TDs as well as 48 rushing attempts for 209 yards and three TDs. He is the second Baylor player in history to win the award, following in the footsteps of former RB Lache Seastrunk in 2012. Senior P Drew Galitz was an All-Big 12 First-Team selection as one of the Big 12’s best punters. In 2018, Galitz had 51 punts for 2,164 yards, averaging about 42.43 yards per punt and 62 yards for his longest attempt. He also added 56 kickoff shots for 3,474 yards. Senior LB Clay Johnston and sophomore DL James Lynch were selected to the All-Big 12 Second-Team with the former leading the Baylor defense with 95 tackles, 5.5 for a loss of 26 yards, and one sack for 12 yards, and the latter collecting 40 tackles, nine tackles for a loss of 58 yards, 5.5 sacks for 45 yards, two pass breakups, six QB hurries, and one block. The Bears also had six players given Honorable Mentions, including senior OL Blake Blackmar, junior S Chris Miller, senior DL Greg Roberts, sophomore CB Raleigh Texada, senior S Verkedric Vaughns, and Lynch mentioned for the Defensive Lineman of the Year award. Congratulations to all of the Bears who worked incredibly hard for these honors!