Big 12 Basketball Awards

The Big 12 announced their men’s basketball postseason awards and Baylor was a top winner! Kansas, West Virginia and Baylor split the awards with the Bears nabbing spots in each team.

Coach of the Year: Bill Self, Kansas
Player of the Year: Frank Mason III, Kansas
Defensive Player of the Year: Jevon Carter, West Virginia
Newcomer of the Year: Manu Lecomte, Baylor
Freshman of the Year: Josh Jackson, Kansas
Sixth Man: Tarik Phillip, West Virginia

Junior F Johnathan Motley was unanimously named to the All-Big 12 First Team along with Monté Morris (Iowa State), Josh Jackson (Kansas), Frank Mason III (Kansas) and Jawun Evans (Oklahoma State). Junior G Manu Lecomte was placed in the All-Big 12 Third Team with Deonte Burton (Iowa State), Wesley Iwundu (Kansas State), Jarrett Allen (Texas), Keenan Evans (Texas Tech) and Nathan Adrian (West Virginia). Senior G Ishmail Wainright was also named to All-Big 12 Honorable Mention. Junior F Jo Lual-Acuil and Wainright were both added to the Big 12 All-Defensive Team with Vladimir Brodziansky (TCU), Nathan Adrian (West Virginia) and Jevon Carter (West Virginia). Lecomte and Acuil were also chosen for the Big 12 All-Newcomer Team as well as Josh Jackson (Kansas), Kameron McGusty (Oklahoma), Alex Robinson (TCU) and Jarrett Allen (Texas).