2023 Preseason Honors for Baylor FB’s Reese, Maile

George Maile
Photo credit: Baylor Athletics

Baylor Football sophomore RB Richard Reese and redshirt freshman OL George Maile earned 2023 preseason honors with Reese snagging a place on the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watchlist and Maile taking part in the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award Watchlist. The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award “recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity to persist as well as determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals.” The Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award is given to the “most outstanding college football player of Polynesian ancestry that epitomizes great ability and integrity,” and Maile is one of 85 players on the list.

Previously for the Baylor Football team, Reese and senior DL Gabe Hall notched first-team awards from Athlon and Phil Steele, respectively. Reese, Hall, sophomore S Alfonzo Allen, and senior OL Clark Barrington all recently snagged spots on prestigious national award watch lists with Reese on the Maxwell Award Watchlist and Doak Walker Award Watchlist, Hall on the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watchlist, Allen on the Wuerffel Trophy Watchlist, and Barrington on the Rimington Trophy Watchlist. The Maxwell Award is given to the most outstanding player in college football, of which Reese is among 85 candidates for the honor. Reese is also in line for the Doak Walker Award, given to the nation’s top college runningback—with Reese being one of 75 athletes participating. The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is awarded to the national defensive player of the year with Hall joining 96 other defensive athletes eligible. Allen is one of 110 candidates for the Wuerffel Trophy, which is an honor for a national athlete who’s demonstrated exceptional community service. Finally, Barrington is one of 40 centers on the list for the Rimington Trophy, which is handed to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division I college football.

Last year, In his first year in the green and gold, Reese easily notched a program record for most rushing yards in a single season by a freshman with 190 carries for 962 yards and 14 TDs—downing former RB Shock Linwood’s record of 881 yards. Because of his incredible performance, the Football Writers Association of America honored Reese as a Freshman All-American. The Football Writers Association of America named only two RBs to their Freshman All-American team with Reese joined by Ole Miss’ Quinshon Judkins, who surpassed national athletes of the same position as the country’s leading rusher. According to Baylor Athletics’ Jerry Hill (papa), “Reese finished the year ranked second in the nation among freshmen in rushing TDs (14) and fifth in rushing yards (972). He led the Bears with 198 carries, averaging 4.9 yards per tote and 74.8 yards per game during his collegiate debut season. His 14 rushing TDs ranked tied for fourth in program single-season history and was the most for a Bear since Shock Linwood had 16 rushing scores in 2014.” Prior to earning the Football Writers Association of America accolade, Reese collected an array of in-season and postseason awards. During the season, Reese was touted as the Big 12 Newcomer of the Week twice—firstly after the Bears’ victory over Texas State during the third week of the season and secondly when Baylor dominated Texas Tech in conference play. He was named one of 14 semifinalists for the Maxwell Football Club’s Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year AwardBig 12 Offensive Freshman of the YearDave Campbell’s Texas Football Offensive Freshman of the Year, College Football News Freshman All-American, and Phil Steele All-Big 12 Third Team.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *